Terror Unleashed – A Review of Munt’s ‘Towards Extinction’

~

Melbourne’s lords of the blistering blast and grotesque groove Munt are back with their second EP, aptly entitled ‘Towards Extinction’. George Van Doorn of Vahrzaw gave it a listen – read on below.

~

Strewth cobber! When I woke up this morning I didn’t think I’d be reviewing a blackened grindcore EP from a Melbourne-based band called Munt. But, bloody Aaron at BMD knew I’d see the band name and wouldn’t be able to help myself. Bastard!

So, as I said, Munt are a blackened grind group that manage to combine these styles in a way that’ll get purists’ panties in a twist. Why? Because they do it well and they do it seamlessly. Suck it purists! Their groove game is really strong, much like another Melbourne-based grindcore band who shall remain nameless. Munt‘s BM game is a little weaker, but not goat-stealing, misguided activist weak.

The vocals are excellent, but there’s a lot of them here. I would’ve liked a few more breaks so that the music could breath a little. The mix is good too, but the cymbals are hard to hear at times. I’m not sure if they were too low in the mix or just didn’t cut through.

Finally, I like my grind compact and, for the most part, Munt do this really, really well. But at nearly 8 mins long, ‘Alas, The Weeping Ceases’ is a little too long. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good song and the riffs in it are frickin’ sweet. But, the song could’ve been tightened up a smidge.

All that said, this is excellent blackened grindcore. Get Munted!

Rating: 4.5 / 5

~

Towards Extinction is available now on self-released CD.

Purchase Towards Extinction digitally from Bandcamp here or on CD from the Munt Bigcartel here.

Support Munt:

~

Like Black Metal Daily on Facebook for more kvlt sounds and tonal blasphemy.

Email: blackmetaldaily@outlook.com

Leave a comment