True Bosnian Black Metal – A Review of ‘Black Metal Tyranny’ by SULPHURIC NIGHT

~

By Daniel Pinheiro (Utopia Platafórmica)

~

I live in a world where I do not search for news in terms of black metal releases; news of new releases comes directly to me via YouTube or Instagram. Modern day black metal fan, I assume… or, no time to do my “homework” and look for novelties? Either way – forget that, and just focus on what I have for you today. Osman, main man of SULPHURIC NIGHT, is one of those artists that from day one started providing the genre with all he has to offer. His artistic being is immensely large and the number of projects he is in shows it perfectly well. In all honesty, I have never been lured in completely by the Bosnian scene. One or two projects, one or two records, but I have never had that opinion of the Bosnian scene that many mates of mine have. Maybe due to my age I tend to be more… picky.  

I like to assume that I simply do not have the time to go through all the releases and bands. Either way… Osman is the man that created Obskuritatem, one of the best black metal projects of the 21st century, in my opition. In other words, one of the best artists to ever replicate what the LLN created. This might sound a bit overstated, but his first works with Obskuritatem always gave me that feeling of despair, melancholy… an idea of a concrete hell, maybe due to the mental image one has of Bosnia. Sulphuric Night, on the other hand, always sounded more black metal at heart. How? More straight forward, aggressive, classic sounding. BLACK METAL. The vocals sound immense, extremely powerful, and clearly distinct. Osman’s work here is amazing. The artist plays with melodies and atmospheres in such a way that one gets drawn in completely; it cradles you in this sort of devilish arms, you know? It is a majestic homage to Nordic black metal melodies, mostly Finnish, ferocious and warrior-like melodies!

Two tunes, a little over ten minutes all up, and I seem to have heard one of the best black metal releases of 2023. Again, it might sound like an exaggeration, but fear not! These tunes are exceptional, masterpieces of contemporary black metal. His first full-length and split with Borda’s Rope were incredible works, but this EP may possibly take first place.

There is this oddly sweet melody rooted in the music that lives through the low-fi production and sharp guitar riffs. The sound of Old and Classic. True Bosnian black metal, yes Sir.

Black Metal Tyranny released March 6th via Black Gangrene Productions.

~

Black Metal Tyranny is sold out. Good luck on Discogs.

Support SULPHURIC NIGHT:

~

Follow Black Metal Daily on Facebook, Instagram, Spotify and Bandcamp HERE for more cult sounds and tonal blasphemy.

Leave a comment